Built to Spill

Boise ID

Built to Spill started in 1992 and have a large discography covering eight albums, a few compilation albums, and a good amount of extended-plays. Every album is led by Doug Martsch but each album has a different lineup of musicians, though some members make appearances on more than one album. Their first album, Ultimate Alternative Wavers, came out in 1993. Built to Spill made their major label debut with their third album, Perfect From Now On. Both 1997’s Perfect From Now On and 1999’s Keep It Like A Secret are featured on Pitchfork’s Top 100 Albums of the 90s’ list. Their eighth and latest album, Built to Spill Plays the Songs of Daniel Johnston, was released in 2020. Built to Spill has returned to the band’s original concept of having a shifting rotation of non-permanent members. The current lineup features Boise bassist Melanie Radford (Marshall Poole, Blood Lemon) and New Mexico drummer Teresa Cruces (Prism Bitch) and longtime BTS contributer, Doug Martsch.

Stay in the loop

Being a member of the Off Beat E-List gives you some sweet perks. You’ll get official updates throughout the year, super-special deals, contests, artist giveaways and much, much more.